Jag Chat: Major story reconstruction?

I have tried and tried to rethink ways to fit certain newly discovered aspects into what has already been written for a while, but it just isn’t working. The only option I see as of this moment, is to do a complete reconstruction on the Cherished One. D’mitri isn’t very happy with me right now, but I’m not too happy either. 😦

So, here’s the deal. I’ve never been terribly happy with the way things progressed and wanted to find a way for things to happen as they are supposed to, but I hated that there was too much story before D’mitri & his woman finally meet face to face. Technically, D’mitri sees her on page 75, but they don’t officially meet until page 105 (around 1/3 way through the book).

Not only does it take them so long to meet, but even though there is some considerable drama in the first part of the book, there is no danger/potential danger or major conflict until much later in the story, which was a problem for some in Lost Zendori.

So, as it stands, the Cherished One is in for a major overhaul. Maybe. I always hate books where you have to wait so long for the two main characters to get together, but truthfully, they are usually some of my favorites because of the journey that got them there.

So here’s my debate. Go forward with the reconstruction, or just keep things the way they are & add certain things in strategically placed points in the story to account for things that I discovered needs to happen later in the story when the big shit goes down. The only problem with that is the fact that it will put off D’mitri & his mate meeting that much longer.

Ugh! Creativity is so hard sometimes. lol.

Anyway, enough from me for now. I need to think on this some more.

❤ Mel

Leave a Reply

