Determined & Unashamed.

Good morning everybody. I have something on my mind that I just can’t shake. I am so impatient for change, but my goals for my writing and getting my stories out there have seemed to fizzle out a little, and I’ve settled into the comfort of being an Indie author. I don’t want to be like that anymore.

I said before that being a financially stable, successful, famous author wasn’t what drove me, but the more I think about it, the more I realize that I was wrong. Yeah, the famous part I can do without, because I’m usually a pretty private, introverted person, but being successful comes with recognition unless you are careful to stay out of the public eye.

Something that’s been bugging me for the past couple days is, I realized how much I want an agent and how much I need one if I’m going to reach my ultimate goal. More than anything, I want to share all these stories I have rattling around in my head. The more people that read them, the happier I’ll be. More exposure is what I need and I’m just not getting it because I’m so limited as far as advertisement.

I know that it never happens for some, and for others it takes years to get an agent and get published the traditional way, but I don’t think I can ever be satisfied with being an Indie author. For one, Indies get no respect. We are badmouthed and put down for being lazy, overconfident attention hogs, but the fact is, there are some of us out there who are just desperate to achieve our dreams and we go to any lengths to reach them… even taking out a loan to pay for editing.

As an Indie author, you have to do something to stand out among the rest of the crowd and scream, THIS IS MY DREAM AND I WILL MAKE IT HAPPEN! Not just getting published, but writing a good book, one that others feel the passion you poured into it and love it as much as you do. I want my writing to affect people. I want it to stir something inside someone, something so profound that they cant ever forget it. I want my writing to inspire others to reach for their dreams no matter what they are, and I cant ever stop until I accomplish mine.

Some dreams are meant to come true, and I believe with everything in me that this is one of those dreams.

❤ Mel

Leave a Reply

