More Changes For The New Year…

The New Year is usually seen as a time to make a fresh start. Sometimes, for some people, it can mean starting over completely. For an author though, the idea of starting over is terrifying…especially if you’ve made a ton of progress…even if it isn’t in the direction you’d hoped to go. Sometimes an unanticipated direction can be a good thing, but sometimes  you just need to step away from whatever project you are working on and clear your head.
Well, I am in serious need of a reboot. I haven’t had enough daily time away from my current project, so everything is jumbled in my head right now. I have so much I want to say, and I can’t make out plainly how I want to say it, but relief is coming soon. I am taking some time off of writing because I just need to get distracted for a little while. I do have my natives waiting for book three of The Jagara Series, so I’m hoping a little time off will do me some good and it will work toward getting me beyond this traffic jam in my head, and out of this funk I’ve been in. In the mean time, I’m gonna be working on edits to my ‘secret project’.
After FINALLY understanding what my editors and a reviewer meant by showing vs telling when writing, I got a few reference books to help me a little, and I’m already seeing a huge improvement in my writing style. I just hope my readers see it as well when book three finally comes out.
I’m not usually good with change, but I know with change comes growth and new possibilities. There is going to be a lot of new for me coming with the end of 2014 and the arrival of 2015. Not just with my evolving writing style, but I am also in the process of redoing my website. So far I’m liking the new layouts. I only have to wait for one detail before I can get it back up and running.

Also, I was recently introduced to a new social network called Tsu. It looks interesting and I think it could be good for me….all except for the fact that it gives me one more distraction from writing. Maybe it wont be so bad, but I’m curious to see how it progresses.

That’s all for now. So, until next time,
♥ Mel
Leave a Reply

