Trying my hand at something new…The dreaded book review.

I decided to add a little something to my blog and start reviewing books I read. I’ve never done this before and as you know, I tend to ramble a lot, but I thought I’d give it a shot. So here we go. Up first:

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander-TV-cover

THE BLURB:

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord . . . 1743.
 
Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

***

Okay. First of all… I am usually strictly a paranormal romance junkie. I’m all about shifters, vampires, werewolves and other awesome creatures like that, but I do have a thing for men with accents and Scotsmen are near the top of that list. My first was from Karen Marie Moning’s Highlander series. I may have mentioned that before 😉

So, here’s what I have to say about OUTLANDER:
Honestly, I hadn’t heard of the Outlander books until I saw the advertisement for the TV series, but it intrigued me enough that I decided to read the books first. I’d seen enough on the TV spots to know the basics of the story, so that combined with my impatience had me quickly asking myself, “When does it get to the good part?” This book was so full of detail that I thought it would never ‘get there’ but when it broke past that initial barrier, (which in reality, wasn’t that far into the book) I was on the edge of my seat. This book was a roller coaster ride. Things were intense much of the time and every time I thought things were settling down, something would happen and there I went again on another ride.

The Sex:
Being accustomed to the animalistic, raw way that shifters and the like show their physical love for one another, I wondered when, or if, Claire would ever have that with the rough-around-the-edges Scot. Well, I was so pleasantly surprised when it finally happened, I didn’t even know how to react.

My final thoughts:
Ms. Gabaldon has a way with words. Her style is so different from anything I’ve ever read, and I am forever hooked. I laughed, I cried, and in the end, all I wanted was more. I can’t wait to read the next book. I look forward to seeing where Claire’s adventures take her next. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes unforgettable characters, emotional ups and downs, and adventures that keep you on the edge of your seat.

Until next time…Happy reading.

❤ Mel

Leave a Reply

