BDB Love

So, in preparation for the release of The Shadows, book 13 of the Black Dagger Brotherhood novels by the one and only J.R. Ward, I decided to reread the entire series…again. 🙂 I just wanted to post a quick overview of my experience with this series and then give a review (spoiler free of course) of the newest installment o the BDB series.


Book One: Dark Lover
Wrath, Son of Wrath, AKA The Blind King:

Every time I read this book, I fall in love with Wrath all over again. I was hooked from the moment he walked into the club to meet with Darius. His and Beth’s story is one that will stick with me for a very long time. To this day, I cant look out my back door at night without thinking of that leather-clad vampire king.

Book Two: Lover Eternal
Possessed by a deadly beast, Rhage, AKA Hollywood, is the most dangerous of the Black Dagger Brotherhood:

I love a good story about a beast, and Rhage is one of my favorites of all time. Chaining the beast…one of my favorite scene’s in this book. That, and the scene behind the couch. He’s no longer the stray dog. Just saying… Nothing. Nothing. Nothing.

Book Three: Lover Awakened
Zsadist is the most terrifying member of the Black Dagger Brotherhood: 

The ones with the tortured souls always make for the best stories. There are so many reasons to love Z. I cant even put into words what his story did to me emotionally. My heart melted for him.

Book Four: Lover Revealed
Butch O’Neal, a fighter by nature, A hard-living ex-homicide cop:
I love Butch and Marissa. Glad the cop finally found his place and Marissa finally realized just how strong she really is. Yes Butch, we really dig the leather too. 😉

Book Five: Lover Unbound
Ruthless and brilliant, Vishous son of the Bloodletter possesses a destructive curse and a frightening ability to see the future:
Vishous is one of my favorite Brothers. He has a complex personality. And despite the way he has lived his life, he still has a vulnerable side that he only shows his woman. Doc Jane truly held his heart. 

Book Six: Lover Enshrined
Fiercely loyal to the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Phury has sacrificed himself for the good of the race, becoming the male responsible for keeping the Brotherhood’s bloodlines alive:
I have to admit, I was a little thrown off by Phury’s story the first time I read it. I knew he had problems because of his past and his twin’s past, but it was really a shock to realize to what extent he was troubled. So much was going on in this book and I love the progress of all the characters. The BDB world hit a pivotal point in this book and I cant wait to see how all the changes affect the future for everyone.

The Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider’s Guide
Prepare to enter the dark passionate world of The Black Dagger Brotherhood and get up close and personal with each one of the Brothers…
I just love that J.R. Ward put this out. I like knowing more about the behind the scenes stuff and the slices of life and the character profiles.

Book Seven: Lover Avenged
Rehvenge AKA The Reverend:
Love Rehvenge. He is one of my favorites. This violet-eyed mohawked sin-eater, pimp who was a whore…stole my heart from the moment he walked in with his sable coat and his pimp cane. I love how his character progressed throughout the series.

Book Eight: Lover Mine
John Matthew:
Oh, John Matthew, how I love you. As usual, Ms. Ward outdid herself. Amazing book. The strength JM showed from the very beginning carried him through some terrible things, two lifetimes of tragedy, but he came out on the other side with his woman. Finally.

Book Nine: Lover Unleashed
Payne, twin sister of Vishous, is cut from the same dark, warrior cloth as her brother:
Seeing Payne’s journey unfold was very surprising. Seeing the softer, vulnerable side of her was unexpected. I loved Manny from the first time we met him earlier in the series, and I’m so glad he came back into the picture. This book was intense. Loved it. There were some unexpected things with the secondary characters, but it’s refreshing to see that just because a couple gets their HEA doesn’t mean they have it made just because they are together. Every couple has issues they have to work through. Even Fictional ones.

Book Ten: Lover Reborn
Tohrment struggles between an unforgettable past, and a future that he doesn’t know he can live with…
I have to admit, part of me wasn’t looking forward to this book because of the guy’s history, but as usual, J R Ward made me love her all over again. Just like every other book of hers that I have read, I was deeply stirred. I laughed, I cried, and I will always come back for more. After the tragic journey he barely survived, I’m glad he found his heart and got the happily-ever-after he deserves.

Book Eleven: Lover At Last
Qhuinn finally learns the true definition of courage, and two hearts who are meant to be together… finally become one.
This was the most awaited book in the series for me, and it didn’t disappoint. Qhuinn is another tortured soul that grabbed a hold of me from the very beginning. So happy these two finally came together. I couldn’t be happier for them.

Book Twelve: The King
After turning his back on the throne for centuries, Wrath, son of Wrath, finally assumed his father’s mantle–with the help of his beloved mate.

I fell in love with Wrath all over again in this book…even though he frustrated the hell out of me with his stubbornness. 😉 So much happened in this book and I’m curious to see where the BDB is going from here.

And for Book Thirteen: The Shadows
Two brothers bound by more than blood fight to change a brutal destiny:

I have to be completely honest. Although this book was yet another masterpiece my the amazingly talented J.R. Ward, this one traumatized me like none of the others. Yes, even Z’s book didn’t affect me this much. After having slept on it, I still feel that I will probably never be able to force myself to reread it. All I have left to say is…

Just like in real life, sometimes, a happy ending isn’t anywhere close to what you want or expect. Sometimes your happily-ever-after comes at the end of your life, not when you find the one your heart belongs to.

So, in closing: I just want to add that I both dread and look forward to the next BDB installment, The Beast. I need closure on what’s going on with Rhage. And I also look forward to starting the spin-off series, The Black Dagger Legacy.

So, now that the trauma is over for me for now, I can focus on my current project…again.
Until next time,

Much Love,


One thought on “BDB Love

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s