Getting To Know The Beast…

For those of you who joined the party after the birth of the beast… Gavril is a Lykarthian warrior, descended of the legendary Berserkers. The original inspiration for his story struck me years ago when I read Karen Marie Moning’s To Tame A Highland Warrior. tumblr_mq5is8WegO1qmdxmao1_400

Gavrael (AKA Grimm) was one of my favorites in the Highlander series, and I thought… there aren’t many berserkers mentioned in romance novels and I want to explore the possibility of putting more out there. That’s when the dreams came. I kept seeing this beast of a man, well over six feet tall, dark skin, dark hair, and a body that could only belong to a warrior.

I started writing out the plans for this beastly man, and decided to pay tribute to Ms. Moning by naming my berserker after hers…in a fashion. Gavril began to grow into more than I planned, his true nature showing through, and I started to fall hard for him.

Then one day, I saw him outside my dreams. While scrolling through pictures and pictures of ‘warriors’ on Google, I stopped, my breath frozen in my throat. There he was. My Gavril. The beast that had haunted my dreams. I quickly discovered that ‘Gavril’ was actually Khal Drogo, of a new TV series called Game Of Thrones. This is the picture that finally captured Gavril’s essence…

Drogo_1x01b

I’ve been working on telling Gavril’s story for several years now, and I quickly learned how both demanding and stubborn he can be. I started the story as a blog book, posting short daily excerpts on Facebook, but there came a day when Gavril simply quit speaking to me. No matter how hard I tried, he remained quiet. Then one day, out of the blue, I couldn’t get him to stop…and I couldn’t get enough of him.

I saw many ups and downs throughout the writing process, and some of you remember my struggles, but it was all worth it. Gavril changed me. He helped me grow as his story evolved, and I see a lot of improvement in my writing because of him. I love my Jagara men, but for me, Gavril will always be the one.

He has put me through the ringer with all his huffing and puffing, and stomping around…but there were moments of his gentle side showing through. Like when he reluctantly said goodbye to Zemirah before he left for his first mission…

or when he tells her he loves her for the first time…

But even though he has that soft side when it comes to his woman, Gavril is still a fierce warrior…especially when it comes to protecting Zemirah…

I’m excited that it is done and in the hands of my editor. I can’t wait to share Gavril’s story and introduce everyone to the world of Lykarthian Warriors. My original plan was to release it in July, but it may well be put off until August depending on how smoothly the editing process goes. Either way, Given will be in the greedy hands of the natives this summer. 🙂

Until next time…
Much love,

Mel

P.S. As promised, since the editing process has begun, I will now be posting teasers on my Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

