Learning and Growing

I got my first negative review on Given yesterday. Well, it wasn’t terrible. It was a 3 out of 5. There were some positive points and some not so great, but I’m not taking it personal. I can’t complain at all when the reviewer said they were sucked into the story enough that they stayed up until 4 a.m. to finish reading because they couldn’t put the book down. I will take the review for what it is…a chance to learn and grow just like I did with the first two Jagara books. Just like anything else in life, you can’t please everyone, but you can take the constructive criticism and apply it as you see fit.

Life is about learning and growing and when your job is to create for the entertainment of others, you have to consider their opinions with an open mind. I’m not saying you have to change everything to try to make everyone happy, because that is impossible. You have to stay true to your vision, but when it comes to the way you present your story, there is always room for improvement.

The opinions of my readers matter to me. Since this is only the third book into my writing career, I know I still have a lot of growing to do. I appreciate the review I got, and though I don’t agree with everything she said, I will be taking some of her opinions into consideration just like I have done with other people’s opinions in the past and will do in the future.

Now, don’t get me wrong, outright criticism and rude comments will just be ignored. I’ve seen too many authors give up on their dream because of asshats who like to do nothing but stir the shit pot. I am not one of those authors. I will not be bullied and I will not quit what I’m doing because someone decides to be an asshole. I write because I love it, and because I want to share my stories with others. As long as there are people who enjoy them, I will keep putting my stories out there. I will continue to write because that is what I love to do. I will keep writing because it is my dream and I will not let someone take it from me.

I just want to say how thankful I am for each and every one of my readers. I’m always excited to give yall another story, and I hope I continue to grow and everyone keeps coming back for more in the future. ❤

That’s all for me for now. Until next time…Do what you love, and never give up on your dreams. You have them for a reason.

❤ Mel

Leave a Reply

